Je Ne Sais Quoi


 I just took a trip out to a local small town in search of the perfect second hand piece to give my room a little Je Ne Sais Quoi. I’m still on the hunt. I came across many pieces that I loved, but none that I felt had that special something.

One of the things I do in my home and the homes of many others, is to incorporate a really fantastic contemporary piece with an old charm. In fact, if a room is completely new or completely old, I think it lacks character. You need to put a little of both in your life in order to have an open perspective. This may be a very scary thing at first, but once you start it just makes sense.

For me, it doesn’t matter if it’s an antique or second hand. Something that has always been ingrained in me is, the importance of antiques and the history of works. That being said, a second hand piece that can be reused has a history as well and can be given a second chance with a little love. I once found a beat up foot stool for $4 and it has turned out to be a treasure in our house. I painted it white, sanded some of the edges and put a gold leaf initial on it. Now the piece will never leave my home.  I put it next to a brand new vanity and suddenly there is life. It’s my son’s favorite piece of furniture because it gets them up to everywhere they shouldn’t be.

Creativity in general is using your imagination to combine styles and create something new. The most successful rooms are a mix of worlds and generations new and old. Mixing contemporary with vintage gives a room a certain  Je Ne Sais Quoi.

Leave a Reply

Homes & Heels

Chicago Style - Fashion & Interior Design

Victoria Elizabeth Barnes

Restoring Our 1890 Victorian

The Working Closet

where life meets style

The Artful Desperado

The Art of Living

ATELIER c157

- ART & PHOTOGRAPHY -

Best Of Everything

Home for the most interesting stuff in wordpress

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 1,167 other followers

