Closet Compromise

If you’re like me, you’ve been standing in front of your closet for the last couple of weeks, trying to figure out what to wear for all of the festive parties this season and thinking ‘I have nothing’. WRONG!

You have more than you realize on your hangers and you can find it by searching for outfits online. I’m willing to bet, that unless it’s fresh off the runway for spring, you have something similar. One trick I use to give my old clothing new life is to search for looks at one of my favorite stores online and then rack my brain to think of what’s in my jewelry box, belt rack, shoe collection, dress collection…everything. Almost every time I figure out I have something similar to wear instead of buying a new $500, or more, outfit for one night.

If you’re still out of luck, rent a necklace or earrings from rent the runway accessories and it will feel like a new outfit for sure.

Of course, the fashionista in me, who hates repeats, also feels sometimes the splurge is worth it if you need that little push to make you feel like a million bucks. Another less expensive route; look for a vintage/second hand dress, buy a new pair of shoes. Happy compromise.

Leave a Reply

Allergy Shmallergy

Simplifying life for families with food allergies.

Homes & Heels

Chicago Style - Fashion & Interior Design

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Victoria Elizabeth Barnes

Dictator. Procrastinator. Hoarder

the working closet

where life meets style

ATELIER c157

- ART & PHOTOGRAPHY -

