The Vibrant Jen Stark

Jen Stark is an artist of many mediums, but the pieces which catch my eye the most are her sculptural works. As a Miami native, her environment has influenced the brilliance of her artwork giving it a natural movement with boundaries, but not limitations. 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

” I definitely think environment and upbringing can affect art-making. Growing up in Miami I experienced so many different cultures and their colorful energy probably rubbed off on me. Also in Miami, plants are green and thriving year-round, and I was always surrounded by an abundance of them. I think my interest in nature sparked my love of accumulation, layers and microscopic patterning. Because it seems that many people can become stagnant in Miami I decided to go to Baltimore for college, even though I had never visited, or even been in real snow before. I guess the cold weather and fear of crime rate sort of forced me to become creative in the studio, focus on my ideas and let loose the vibrancy! Also, I attribute the start of the paper sculptures…”

For more of  Gabe Scott’s interview  and her work click here. 

oh yeah…this is how I feel about the fact that it’s Monday.

Shore Leave

Jonathan Queen via Miller Gallery

One Comment to “The Vibrant Jen Stark”

  1. That’s what happens when MB & I move into a new place. Paint goes everywhere…

Leave a Reply

Allergy Shmallergy

Simplifying life for families with food allergies.

Homes & Heels

Chicago Style - Fashion & Interior Design

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Victoria Elizabeth Barnes

Dictator. Procrastinator. Hoarder

the working closet

where life meets style

The Artful Desperado

The Art of Living

ATELIER c157

- ART & PHOTOGRAPHY -

