Gift Topper Ideas: Paper art

 

flowers I flowers II flowers III flowers

I have a serious obsession with paper art. L-O-V-E it! I love the way the paper feels, smells, the way it cuts and folds. I can get lost in paperchase for hours on end. Moreover, I love artist designs with paper and this year I’ve decided to make paperart flowers to top my gifts instead of regular foil bows. I’m not really a traditional girl when it comes to the holidays (I have a white tree with rainbow colored ornaments). I wanted to incorporate a handmade gift along with my standard awesome present.

flowers IV

To get the rich, less manufactured colors I like to add a further personal touch with watercolours. I paint the paper before folding and cutting and use an Ombre technique to create a gradient. You don’t neccessarily have to use watercolour paper. I like using heavy card stock because it holds the structure far better. Any old brush will do. This technique displays more of the color than the detail in brushstrokes. For a detailed D.I.Y instructions on how to make different types of flowers visit the sites below. As D.I.Y. is not my specialty, I’ll leave it to the pros.

Jones Design Company

 

Folio Love

Tip Nut

One Comment to “Gift Topper Ideas: Paper art”

  1. Need to try this! It’s amazing! Xoxo

Leave a Reply

Allergy Shmallergy

Simplifying life for families with food allergies.

Homes & Heels

Chicago Style - Fashion & Interior Design

Hiking Photography

Beautiful photos of hiking and other outdoor adventures.

Victoria Elizabeth Barnes

Dictator. Procrastinator. Hoarder

the working closet

where life meets style

ATELIER c157

- ART & PHOTOGRAPHY -

